Sons of Bill Simmons

Rumors involving Boston Sports, Celebrity Gossip, and Humor

Somebody Made A Movie About Ryan Leaf

Posted by Mike on December 3, 2008

leafcarr

I know the anticipation to view this 82-minute film about Ryan Leaf must rival that of Star Wars, Harry Potter, and Lord of The Rings. But, one thing the Leaffilm has over all the rest is its FREE!!! Which must of come as a shock to everyone. Surprisingly, the San Diego Chargers are not trying to recoup any of the $11.25 Million dollar bonus they gave to LeafSignonSanDiego.com, reports that director and likely Oscar candidate Tim Carr did this film because “For me, it is (redemptive). Here’s a guy who kind of tried to make it right, but just could never get it right. But I want to leave it up to the fans”. No word yet if they will include Leaf’s coaching career at West Texas A&M were he asked players for pain killers. More from SignonSanDiego:

“Leaf,” an 82-minute film written and directed by its star, Tim Carr, will screen for the first time on the West Coast at 6:30 p.m. tomorrow at the San Diego Library, 820 E Street. And it won’t cost you a nickel.

“I insisted it be free for all the Chargers fans because it’s their story,” Carr said. “I was like, ‘Chargers fans have been through enough – let them have this.’ ”

“I put myself in the San Diego fans’ spot so many times because I’m a huge sports fan and I love my team like San Diego loves their team,” Carr, a diehard Philadelphia Eagles fan, said by phone from his home in Delaware.

“I think when they see it, they might get on me for maybe taking it easy on him, although I assure you I didn’t – we throw everything in – but the way we kind of left it was so people can kind of make their mind up: Maybe he redeemed himself; maybe he moved beyond this.

Leave a Reply

 
