Sons of Bill Simmons

Rumors involving Boston Sports, Celebrity Gossip, and Humor

Joey Porter On The Patriots- “I Don’t Like Them”

Posted by Mike on November 18, 2008

op59-11689

Often outspoken Miami Dolphins linebacker Joey Porter, has opened his mouth once again this week. The former Pittsburgh Steeler while talking to a group of reporters told them (via Boston Herald):

“I don’t like them,” Porter said. “I ain’t never really too much cared for them. It is what it is.”

Among Porter’s issues with the Patriots is the way they failed to take a knee during the closing moments of a 28-7 victory in Foxboro last year, as well as their decision to cut through the Dolphins’ pregame stretch in September.

Yeah, I’ve got a long memory,” Porter said. “I’ve got a memory like an elephant. It’s always about respect. If somebody shows you respect, then you’re going to get respect back. But if someone shows you a certain way, why should you be any different? They’re not sitting over there praising me. I’m not in their top five favorite people in their locker room. Why should I put them in my top five favorites?”

I don’t really care, to tell you the truth,” Porter said. “I don’t forget things like (not taking a knee). I hope our whole defense, our whole team doesn’t forget things like that. (Belichick) had the mindset last year where he said if he could put 50 up on you, he was going to put 50 up on you. That was his mindset. So why should I feel sorry about anything that happens on that side of the field?”

“Now they’ve got to come into our yard. All the little antics they had before the game and stuff like that, they’re not going to try that in our house.

“They let us know how they feel about us,” Porter concluded. “There’s no love lost. We don’t like them. They don’t like us. That’s exactly the way you should like it.”

He might be in a different uniform, but it’s the same old Joey Porter.

Leave a Reply

 
