Sons of Bill Simmons

Rumors involving Boston Sports, Celebrity Gossip, and Humor

Ty Law Claims Patriots Offered Him More Money

Posted by Mike on November 13, 2008

53341602

Recently signed Jets cornerback Ty Law claimed in the NY Post, that the Patriots actually offered him more money then the J-E-T-S. The former Patriot said in his best Mo Vaughn voice “Everybody thinks it’s money, money, money,” he said. “New England offered me more money than I’m getting paid here. New England offered me a good bit more, but I felt like this was the right situation and Eric was always forthright with me about how he was going to utilize me”. This from the guy who called Bill Belichick a liar and threatened to hold out with the Patriots if he didn’t get more money, right ? This was just Ty Law trying to appease Jets fans with his signing. It’s highly unlikely the Patriots offered Law more money. Everyone knows, Law goes to the highest bidder.  More from NY Post:

“Everybody thinks it’s money, money, money,” he said. “New England offered me more money than I’m getting paid here. New England offered me a good bit more, but I felt like this was the right situation and Eric was always forthright with me about how he was going to utilize me and let me come in and play. If I want to play beyond this season, I think this is the best chance to do so and the best chance to win, in my opinion.”

“It’s just that I’d been there so long and I had a lot of success with the Patriots,” Law said. “You can’t ask for anything more. You’re on prime time, you’re playing the great New England Patriots. They went undefeated last year and I’ve been a part of that organization for a long time and had a lot of success. I have three Super Bowl rings, so the drama continues with both of these teams.”

Leave a Reply

 
