Sons of Bill Simmons

Rumors involving Boston Sports, Celebrity Gossip, and Humor

Vince Wilfork Would Like To End His Career As A Patriot

Posted by Mike on October 1, 2008

New England Patriots nose tackle, Vince Wilfork told the Boston Herald, that “I want to end my career here. I want to end my football career to end in New England. If they don’t know, I’m pretty sure you guys will let them know how much I love it here. i don’t want to go anywhere else.” The Patriots nose tackle has two years left on his contract, and with more teams now playing a 3-4 defense, the price for Vince should be high. But, if we have learned anything from the Patriots, its that they like to lockup their young players, especially defensive lineman. The Patriots have already in the past re-signed Richard Seymour, Ty Warren, and Jarvis Green to contract extensions, it’s inevitable that Wilfork will be the fourth. The nose tackle is the most important position on their defense, and Vince just might be the best in the league at it. More from the Herald:

I got two more years. That’s something I’m not even worried about right now. That’ll take care of itself,” he said. ”I’m a football player. I signed up for six years. That’s what I’m looking to play. If anything happens between now and then, it happens. But I’m looking to play all my six. But I’m happy. I can’t get any happier than I am.

”I want to end my career here. I want to end my football career to end in New England. If they don’t know, I’m pretty sure you guys will let them know how much I love it here. i don’t want to go anywhere else. When I signed here, the first thing I said in my press conference, ‘I want to start a Patriot, and I want to end a Patriot. ‘

”I’m far from not being finished. I got a couple more years before I call it quits,” he went on. ”I love it here, man. You can’t find anybody else that can come in and work, and like their company. Everyone you meet here is unbelievable. I don’t have any complaints. None. I can’t complain about anything. I’m happy. I’m always smiling. I love to do what I do. Playing football, and having fun with the guys I do battle with every Sunday. That’s what I look forward to.”

Leave a Reply

 
