Sons of Bill Simmons

Rumors involving Boston Sports, Celebrity Gossip, and Humor

All Good Is Now Restored To America

Posted by Mike on September 30, 2008

In the apology that everyone knew was to happen, Dallas Mavericks forward, Josh Howard reaffirmed that he still does “love this country.” During yesterday’s media day for the Dallas Mavericks, Howard as you can believe was in the eye of the storm for reporters. After a tumultuous offseason were he admitting to smoking the devil’s grass, and just last month was caught on video saying that he’s black and he doesn’t stand for the national anthem. This apology was as likely as Clay Aiken finally admitting he liked ham in a ham sandwich. Not even the Don Imus apology was an inevitable as this one. Come on, he plays in Texas were some of the most patriotic (which is a euphemism for crazy) people live. If he didn’t apolgize God knows what would have been said to him. More from Dallas Morning News:

“I know that’s not me,” he said. “I love this country. If it wasn’t for this country, I wouldn’t be out here playing basketball. For me to have that opportunity is the greatest.

“That’s not me. That’s not Josh Howard. That was an idiot.”

“I apologize to everybody I’ve offended,” the 6-7 forward said. “I’m upset with myself and the way I’ve acted. It was just me joking around. I just wasn’t using my head. I learned that words really do hurt and you are held accountable for what you said.

“I went to military school. I have friends that serve in the military. I know how it is to wake up and salute the flag. In the national anthem every game, I have my hand over my heart. It was just me not thinking.”

2 Responses to “All Good Is Now Restored To America”

  1. DDP said

    I give him two more years in the states before he goes to Europe to puff and play ball without getting bothered.

  2. Travis Outlaw said

    What exactly did Josh Howard say to offend people?

Leave a Reply

 
