Sons of Bill Simmons

Rumors involving Boston Sports, Celebrity Gossip, and Humor

Mike Reiss Believes Kevin O’Connell May Take Over For Cassel

Posted by Mike on September 24, 2008

In his weekly mailbag at Boston.com, Patriots beat writer Mike Reiss discusses the future of the Patriots quarterback situation. Reiss believes that eventually sometime soon that rookie third-round pick, Kevin O’Connell will take over the helms, because the Patriots are not satisfied with the play of Matt Cassel. It may not be towards the end of the year, but it will happen. More from Reiss:

I’m not sure how the Patriots truly view Cassel. At this time, after what I felt was a subpar performance Sunday, it’s easy to pile on Cassel. But taking into account the big picture, if I had to guess, I’d say that the team was a bit concerned with what it saw in the preseason – but based on the three-year investment and the lack of other options — hoped that it could get by with him for a stretch until O’Connell was ready to take over the No. 2 spot. Then the disaster struck with Brady’s injury in the opener. So as for the future, I do think O’Connell will eventually leapfrog Cassel, who I’m not sure can consistently throw the ball to the deep third of the field. I have been impressed with what I have seen from O’Connell. The way I view it, it’s not a matter of if he passes Cassel, but more when

2 Responses to “Mike Reiss Believes Kevin O’Connell May Take Over For Cassel”

  1. raginrondo said

    Now we’re talking!! I’d enjoy seeing an attempt further than 15 yards next week.

  2. DDP said

    This better happen soon. I think John Falcone could be a more accurate passer than Cassell.

Leave a Reply

 
